Skokie, Illinois DUI Attorney
Monitoring Device Driving Permits and Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices
If you were charged with DUI, and have been notified of suspension of your driver’s license, when you appear in court on your appearance date, you will be informed of the availability of a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). You have the choice to request such a permit or decline, however it is important that you understand that driving under a suspension after declining the MDDP is a felony offense. Further, you will not receive the permit immediately, rather it could take several weeks between your application for an MDDP and your ability to drive.
It is important that you speak to a knowledgeable Northbrook DUI lawyer like Matthew R. Gebhardt in order to determine your best course of action. Attorney Gebhardt served five years as a Cook County prosecutor prior to going into his criminal law practice. His experience and extensive knowledge of Illinois DUI law can make the difference between a positive and a negative outcome to your DUI charges.
How to Obtain a Monitoring Device Driving Permit in Illinois
Below are some facts related to your ability to obtain an MDDP following charges of DUI:
- Your MDDP will not go into effect until thirty-one days following your suspension.
- If your driver’s license was suspended when you were arrested for DUI, or if your DUI resulted in severe injury or death, you are ineligible for an MDDP.
- Should you not be over the age of 18, you are ineligible for an MDDP.
- You must be a first-time DUI offender to qualify for an MDDP.
Once you have received your MDDP application through the mail, it must be completed and returned to the Secretary of State’s office. Your application will be assessed and you will be notified regarding fees and the issuance of your MDDP. Following the issuance of your MDDP you are given two weeks to obtain a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) and have it fitted to your vehicle.
Information About Illinois BAIID Programs
You must pay all costs associated with both the installation and the continued monitoring of your BAIID—unless the court deems you indigent. The fees can be considerable; up to $85 in vendor fees, plus a monthly rental fee of approximately $80. Additionally you will pay a monthly monitoring fee to the Secretary of State’s office. Some facts about the BAIID include:
- You will have to blow into the device prior to starting your vehicle each and every time. If your breath sample measures 0.025 or above, your vehicle will not start.
- In addition to the initial breath sample to start your vehicle, you will be required to blow in the device at random intervals throughout your trip.
- Anyone who drives your vehicle must blow in the BAIID device.
- Information from your BAIID will be downloaded every two months by the office of the Secretary of State.
Any violation will result in your having to justify the circumstances surrounding the violation. Should you neglect to respond or the Secretary of State’s office finds your explanation insufficient, your driver’s license suspension can be prolonged for another 90 days, or you could receive notification that your MDDP is no longer valid. You can drive anywhere, anytime, for any legal reason with the MDDP.
How a Skilled DUI Attorney Can Help
Attorney Matthew R. Gebhardt has many years’ experience, as well as a thorough understanding of all legal issues surrounding your DUI. Our Lake County DUI lawyer can assist you in obtaining your MDDP/BAIID and can guide you through all the legal processes involved with your charges. Do not wait—contact Matthew R. Gebhardt at 773-898-8745 or 847-239-4703 for a free initial consultation.