1425 McHenry Road, Suite 204, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

Free Initial Consultation

847-239-4703 | 773-383-8745

What You Need to Know About Domestic Violence Laws in Illinois

 Posted on November 21, 2022 in Domestic Battery

shutterstock_2069867093-min.jpgDomestic violence is a serious issue that affects millions of people every year. If you have been accused of domestic violence in the State of Illinois, it is important to understand your rights and seek legal counsel. An experienced domestic violence defense attorney can provide invaluable advice and guidance in navigating this difficult situation.

What Is Domestic Violence?

In Illinois, domestic violence is defined as any physical abuse, harassment, or interference with personal liberty between family members or individuals who have had an intimate relationship. Domestic violence is not just physical abuse; it can also include threats, isolation, economic control, and emotional manipulation.

Illinois Laws Regarding Domestic Violence

In most cases, someone arrested for domestic violence will be charged with domestic battery. This charge involves violence or threats of violence against a domestic partner or family member. Specifically, domestic battery is defined by Illinois law as the intentional or knowing causing of bodily harm or physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature. Depending on the severity of the offense and whether any weapons were involved, domestic battery can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.

Generally, domestic battery will be charged as a Class A misdemeanor.  However, if a person had previously been convicted of domestic battery, violation of an order of protection, or another type of violent crime, they may be charged with a Class 4 felony. A Class A misdemeanor conviction can lead to up to a year in prison. A Class 4 felony conviction can result in a sentence of 1 to 3 years.

If a person is accused of domestic battery that resulted in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement, they may be charged with a Class 2 felony. A person who is convicted of this offense may be sentenced to between 3 and 7 years.

An accusation of domestic violence can not only result in criminal charges, but it may affect the life of a person and their family in many ways. A person may face serious penalties that could affect their life, job, and reputation. In some cases, a person may be subject to an order of protection,  which could impact their ability to see their children or remain in their home.

Contact Our Lake County Domestic Battery Defense Attorney

If you are facing domestic violence charges, it is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights. In addition to domestic battery charges, you could potentially face other criminal charges such as assault, harassment, intimidation, or stalking. At The Law Offices of Matthew R. Gebhardt, P.C., our Rolling Meadows Criminal Defense Lawyer can provide experienced legal representation in domestic violence cases. We understand the complexities of domestic violence laws in Illinois and can provide you with a strong defense. Call 847-239-4703 to set up your free consultation.







Share this post:
Back to Top